Michael Burk re-elected bishop of ELCA Southeastern Iowa Synod


The Rev. Michael L. Burk was re-elected May 31 to serve a second six-year term as bishop of the Southeastern Iowa Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA). He was re-elected on the fourth ballot during the Synod Assembly May 30-June 1 at the Coralville Marriott Hotel and Convention Center in Coralville, Iowa.

Burk was elected with 254 votes to 75 votes for the Rev. Virginia Anderson-Larson, pastor of St. John Lutheran Church in Olin, Iowa, and Zion American Lutheran Church in Wyoming, Iowa. The Rev. Kathy Gerking, interim assistant to the bishop in the ELCA South-Central Synod of Wisconsin in Madison, Wis., received 51 votes. A total of 380 votes were cast.

Prior to becoming bishop in 2008, Burk served as director for ELCA Worship. Burk graduated from Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa, and Wartburg Theological Seminary in Dubuque, Iowa. He earned a doctorate in American studies from the University of Iowa in Iowa City, Iowa. Wartburg College is one of 26 ELCA colleges and universities; Wartburg Seminary is one of eight ELCA seminaries. Burk was ordained in 1986.

Information about the ELCA Southeastern Iowa Synod is available at http://seiasynod.org. ‚Äč