All ELCA websites may be unavailable for brief periods between 6 p.m.-10 p.m. Central time on Weds, 10/7 due to scheduled maintenance. Thank you.

Steven Ullestad re-elected bishop of ELCA Northeastern Iowa Synod


The Rev. Steven L. Ullestad was re-elected June 15 to serve a fifth six-year term as bishop of the Northeastern Iowa Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) during the Synod Assembly June 13-15 at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa. Ullestad was re-elected on the fourth ballot with 230 votes to the 41 votes received by the Rev. Elizabeth Olson, pastor of St. Timothy Lutheran Church in Hudson Iowa, and 32 votes received by the Rev. Ramona Bouzard, chaplain at Wartburg College. Wartburg is one of 26 colleges and universities of the ELCA.

Before Ullestad became bishop in 1992, he served as assistant to the bishop of the ELCA Northeastern Iowa Synod from 1988 to1992 and as pastor of St. Timothy Lutheran Church, from 1979 to1987. Ullestad graduated from Wartburg with a Bachelor of Music Education degree, and he holds Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Theology, and Doctor of Divinity degrees from Wartburg Theological Seminary in Dubuque, Iowa. Wartburg Theological Seminary is one of eight ELCA seminaries.

Information about the ELCA Northeastern Iowa Synod is available at ‚Äč