Scholarship Awards Celebration


Welcome to the ELCA Fund for Leaders 2020 Scholarship Awards Celebration! This virtual event will be airing on this page on Friday, Oct. 2, 7 p.m. Central time. You also have the option of participating in the Facebook Watch Party with a live chat starting at the appointed time on the ELCA Facebook page. Join the fun on Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #FundForLeaders20, and we’ll be resharing your posts.

Watch this page for more information, including the program book and videos from this year’s new scholarship recipients.



ELCA Fund for Leaders 
2020 Scholarship Awards Celebration

Friday, Oct. 2, 7 p.m. Central time



Welcome and Director’s Report
The Rev. Mark Olsen
Director, ELCA Fund for Leaders, and Director, Mission Funding

A Message from the Chair, ELCA Conference of Bishops
The Rev. Tracie L. Bartholomew
Bishop, ELCA New Jersey Synod
Chair, ELCA Conference of Bishops

The Rev. Yehiel Curry
Bishop, ELCA Metropolitan Chicago Synod
Fund for Leaders Scholarship Selection Committee

Presentation of Scholarship Recipients
The Rev. Mark A. Bernthal
Fund for Leaders Leadership Table
Pastor, Our Savior Lutheran Church, Vero Beach, Fla.

Esther Rusch
Fund for Leaders Scholarship Selection Committee
Member, Faith Lutheran Church, Cedarburg, Wis.

With greetings from:
The Rev. Dr. Robin Steinke
President, Luther Seminary

The Rev. Dr. James Nieman
President, Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago

The Rev. Dr. Mary Hinkle Shore
Rector and Dean, Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary of Lenoir-Rhyne University

The Rev. Dr. Raymond Pickett
Rector, Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary

The Rev. Dr. Kathryn Kleinhans
Dean, Trinity Lutheran Seminary

The Rev. Dr. R. Guy Erwin
President, United Lutheran Seminary

Dr. Kristine Stache
Interim President, Wartburg Theological Seminary

The Rev. Ruben Duran
Director, ELCA Congregational Vitality

The Rev. Christopher Otten
Assistant to the Presiding Bishop and Director, ELCA Federal Chaplaincies

And also featuring:
“Show Up!” video
Spoken word artist Joe Davis
Seminaries of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America

Thank You
ELCA Fund for Leaders 2020 Scholarship Recipients
Video presentation

Closing Remarks and Benediction
The Rev. Elizabeth A. Eaton
Presiding Bishop, ELCA


ELCA Fund for Leaders
2020-2021 Program Book







ELCA Fund for Leaders
Scholarship Recipient Videos